The Poetry Society of Tennessee
A member of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies

This site is no longer being updated. Please see

Our History

Charter of Incorporation:

The Charter of The Poetry Society of Tennessee was granted June 30, 1953 and prepared by Margaret B. McCarty, Charter Member.


The seven signers of the charter are the Founding Members. At the second general meeting on June 20, 1953, these members were elected as the first officers of the new organization. Their names and offices are as follows: President, Raymond McCarty; Vice-President, Charlie W. Sturm; Recording Secretary, Inez E. Andersen; Corresponding Secretary, Cleo J. (John) Fox; Treasurer, Margaret B. McCarty; and Directors, Kenneth L. Beaudoin and Gordon Lockhart.


According to the Society Charter, the organization was constituted "for the purpose of bringing into being a close comradeship and mutual working fellowship among the recognized poets of the State; stimulating the as yet unrecognized poets of the State to make an effort for recognition in the established channels of expression; sponsoring the recognition of Poetry as a creative art in the educational institutions within this State by encouraging the youth of Tennessee to secure the cultural background and appreciation necessary to achieve stature as a poet; and assisting and encouraging in every way possible the development of creative talent in the field of poetry."